BWG live show recieves 6 out of 6 stars in GAFFA

Posted on July 1, 2009

0


Time for some bragging again. Gaffa smiled upon my live performance as well as on my record, and here is the review. My reflections on the show are just about as positive. To have all my friends up there singing along with me on stage, smiling, dancing, drunk, was more than I could have hoped for. Add that to the wonderful, precise guitar playing of my dear friend Kasper, and the beautiful horn section culled from Slaraffenland , and the wildly receptive audience, and it was just one big party. Everyone was smiling so hard, clapping along. Someone told me afterwards that it felt just like being in someone’s living room, and that was just a perfect compliment.

This review was kindly translated by another new friend, Christin, edited slightly by me. I’ve always depended on the kindness of strangers…

Massive sunbeam ends 24 hours of rain.

American-born Gabriel blew me away with his demo CD, but he had warned me about the concert, saying it would be something different. On the demo he was by himself and had a lot of structure, and on the stage he would have a ten man band that didn’t really have time for rehearsals before the day of the gig. So I was a bit skeptical about how the live gig would end up.

Six of those 10 members in the band ended up being backup singers… one on guitar, and 3 on horns. A band combination I have never seen before, but it ended up being brilliantly thought out.

The songs were, as on the demo, a mix between singer/songwriter, folk and weird new American. They are very well written and Gabriel can sing them like no one else. His voice is almost too good. It is difficult to imagine anyone in the room untouched by his intensity and love, and he could even have performed the concert alone, armed with his guitar. But with the added enthusiasm and drunkenness from the band it ended up in a new dimension. They dropped in and out of song and the stage, to underline the feeling of a messy concert, where emotion was more important than the technical.

Horns were mainly used in the choruses, achieving a more dynamic effect rather than carrying the melody, and giving Gabriel a chance to sing even louder. Not many people have a voice able to fill up a room, but he could probably have done it in an even bigger room. Percussion consisted of egg shakers, beaten bottles and help from the audience.

It ended up as an intimate and roaring concert, where you left with the feeling that you were part of the show. Completely overwhelming! When the band marched through Lades while the backup singers repeated the chorus, people felt like there was a big hug waiting.

In a very positive way I would say he took busking to the next level.

This show was really important for me, personally and musically, and I’m so happy it came across to the audience.

love, the boy

Tagged:
Posted in: Uncategorized