Happy New Year + Zuzu tonight!

Posted on January 4, 2010

0


one. Take a few minutes to think about how big the universe (right above your head right now) is:

Did anyone else get that feeling, zooming back into earth after all that astral travel, of being a little kid half-asleep in the backseat of the car at night with your parents driving you home from some impossibly distant seeming place? Maybe it was the confident navigation past all those undifferentiated stars, all the same and different like other people’s houses.

two. Since my no bullshit resolution in the last post, I have learned, by admitting when I don’t know what someone is talking about, that the same company who makes those cutesy little robot vacuums is also a HUGE defense contractor building adaptable pod robots for the military. Ah, the useless spoils of honesty. I also caught myself lying about something stupid once, but didn’t admit it. For shame.

three. I am playing at Zuzu for free tonight. I think I am going to cover a Leonard Cohen song, because even in a new decade, LC is still extremely relevant. The Phoenix listed the show as an editor’s pick, and said some nice stuff about me:
Boy Without God’s Gabriel Birnbaum is this city’s Elliott Smith. His numerous, quietly beautiful EPs have been making the winters more palatable for as long as we can remember. His latest lo-fi charmer Eight Delicate Olives Slowly Chewed At Midnight features a combination of warm acoustic tracks and adventurous instrumentals. He’ll be teaming up with another favorite, local songwriter Carter Tanton (Tulsa) for a sleeper show at ZuZu,

Come on out and buy me a whiskey. Making records is expensive. And thirst-inducing.

four. I have begun writing haiku every day as part of some semi-conscious New Years resolution (probably just from being around my dad actually). I think I will post them all on the internet, but I’m not sure how yet. Either daily on the bwg twitter and weekly on here or maybe on a new haiku-only twitter account.

Posted in: Uncategorized